We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

More Smartphones Opinion

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Fool on the hill

    Yes, yes, it's April Fool's Day. But here at the Remains of the Day, it's business as usual. So you can read about non-resellable MP3s, rumors about the next two iPhones, and Tim Cook's handsome, handsome yearbook photos without any fear that we're out to fool you. That's because the remainders for Monday, April 1, 2013, respect everything about you.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Purple reign

    Apple would really, really, really appreciate it if you'd give Final Cut Pro X just one more chance. Elsewhere, iPhone 5S rumors are running rampant on the streets, and photographic proof of Steve Jobs's most daring choice. This is the column formerly known as the remainders for Thursday, March 28, 2013.

  • Opinion: Tech Trek: Long Beach, California

    I have a confession to make at the outset: I used to live in Long Beach. Many readers expect travel columns to reflect the writer's experience as a visitor to a new place every time. Because I've lived in a lot of places--nearly two dozen different cities--the chances of my returning to a place where I used to live is a little higher than for most people. Anyway, I lived in the LBC for less than a year, so I'm hardly a native of the place.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Soul, man

    Samsung's trying to bring a little more life to its devices--arguably, too much. Elsewhere, a trusted source tells Apple just where it went wrong, and we have a new challenger in the Steve Jobs movie arena. The remainders for Monday, March 18, 2013 got what they got the hard way.

  • Opinion: Bugs & Fixes: Recover photos lost in an import

    The other day, someone I know very well (I shall not reveal his identity) called me for some emergency tech support. He had been importing photos from his iPhone to iPhoto on his Mac. A lot of photos. Just over a thousand photos, to be precise. After the import had apparently completed, a message popped up stating that the original photos were being deleted from the iPhone. During this process, iPhoto crashed.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Plane and simple

    An iPad might join you on your next flight to Hawaii, iPhone users consume online video at a prodigious rate, and Steve Jobs is the illustrated man. The remainders for Tuesday, March 12, 2013 are free with every purchase.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Chips and dip

    A new species of malware wants you to “like” it, the earliest iPhone is positively prehistoric, and the latest Apple TV packs a tiny surprise. The remainders for Monday, March 11, 2013 are served.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: The letter two

    Apple and Sony are going head-to-head--or ear-to-ear?--over music licensing, Phil Schiller posts a tweet and the Internet goes wild, and a former Apple rival joins Cupertino in taking on a new threat. The remainders for Thursday, March 7, 2013 can't read or write.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Pulp fiction

    Is a subscription service music to Tim Cook's ears? Will Apple set back the clock on Swatch? Will a judge tell a case not to pass go and not to collect $200? All those questions and more on the remainders for Wednesday, March 6, 2013.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Believe it or not

    Would you believe me if I told you Apple was working on new iPhones and iPads? What if I told you it was in a lull of innovation? What if I said Ferrari and Apple were teaming up to fight crime? Then I saw the remainders for Tuesday, March 5, 2013--now I'm a believer.

  • Opinion: Will you buy a phablet this year?

    Smartphones are getting bigger by the minute. These days it's the norm to have a screen between four and five inches. However, 2013 could be the year of the 'phablet' with screens bulging to six inches or maybe bigger. Would you buy one of these tablet-smartphone hybrids? Our survey says yes.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Funny money

    Apple's taking stock of its stock situation, issuing updates for AirPort, and thinking about making it easier to exchange cash via your iPhone. The remainders for Thursday, February 7, 2013 are in the money.

  • Opinion: How Cloud Computing Is Driven by Mobile, Media and Marketing

    Defenders of enterprise computing are in for a rude awakening. Mobile, media and marketing applications are poised to flock to the cloud, which is far better suited to handle load variability, latency and change management. As end users and executives demand more flexibly business applications, they will soon follow suit.

  • Opinion: Microsoft's CEO is wrong about Office for iOS: Here's why

    Rumors have been floating around for some time that Microsoft is hard at work developing Microsoft Office apps for iOS--or more specifically for the Apple iPad. Speculation about Office for iOS has grown following the launch of Office 2013 and the new Office 365, but Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer appears to have squashed that dream for the time being.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Small change

    More "information"--if it can be called such--about the iPad mini's rumored Retina display, Mac OS X 10.9 may soon roar onto the scene, and Apple's shrinking yet another of its products (sort of). The remainders for Monday, February 4, 2013 are too small to be seen with the naked eye.

  • Opinion: App Spotlight: FineReader Touch brings multi-lingual OCR scanning to iOS

    There are plenty of apps that can turn your phone into the equivalent of a mobile scanner, using the camera to take snapshots of various documents, then letting you file and/or share those documents.

  • Opinion: Network not work: life without internet

    Could you live without the internet? We certainly can't, and it seems even Google is beginning to rethink its online-only approach with its ARM-powered Chromebook laptops.

  • Opinion: Answer Line: Creepy permissions for Android apps

    Sdlmd downloaded an Android app that wanted access to Contacts, even though it had no legitimate reason to check on friends and relatives. What can be done?

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Ever smaller

    The next iPhone may scan your fingerprints, and the future iPad will--almost shockingly--not be bigger and heavier. The remainders for Wednesday, January 16, 2013 are lighter than air.

  • Opinion: ChargeCard: A smartphone sync cable for your wallet

    Earlier this week I told you about the ChargeDr, a great little accessory for anyone who routinely travels with a tablet.



IDG UK Sites

Nokia replaces budget Lumia 520 with 530: Release date, price and specs

IDG UK Sites

Q3 2014 financial results: Apple announces record June quarter, 35.2m iPhones sold, $37.4b revenue

IDG UK Sites

Welcome to the upgrade cycle - you'll never leave

IDG UK Sites

How to make an 'Apple iWatch' using an iPod nano and a 3D printer