We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

Deauthorizing the iTunes account on an old computer

A colleague who shall go unnamed is in the process or moving and has unearthed what he believes to be tainted treasure. He writes:

I have a really old iBook that's still running 10.2.8 and iTunes 4. I am trying to deauthorize this computer, but when I try, it says that it can't connect to the iTunes Store. (Got it plugged into Ethernet, so Internet connectivity isn't the issue.) Please tell me I don't have to upgrade iTunes just to turn off this account on this computer.

You don't have to upgrade iTunes just to turn off this account on this computer.

You're welcome.

Oh, you wanted more than that? Very well. This can be filed among several similar "I have/inherited/know about Computer X that is authorized with my Apple ID and I'm unable to deauthorize it" conundrums that routinely scoot across my desk.

It's generally considered bad form when playing a board game to grab the aforementioned board and throw it and its accompanying pieces into the air. However, in this case, I heartily recommend it. And by that I mean rather than spending hours trying to elevate this computer to a state where it and the iTunes Store see eye-to-eye, you're better off starting over. And by that I mean resetting all your authorizations and then reauthorizing just those computers that you currently use.

This is easily done. On the computer you currently use launch iTunes. You will see your Apple ID in the top-right of this [email protected], for instance. Click on your ID and in the resulting dialog box, enter your iTunes password and click the View Account button.

In the Account Information pane that appears, seek out the Computer Authorizations area. Here you'll find the number of computers that are authorized to use your Apple ID--your ancient iBook is one of them. Next to this entry is a Deauthorize All button. Click it to do exactly what it says. All your computers will be deauthorized.

At one time this button didn't become visible until you'd used all five of your allowed authorizations and you were allowed to do it just once a year. This is no longer that case. I recently cleared all my authorizations, reauthorized two Macs, and the button was present and accounted for.

Now, as needed, authorize the computers you currently use by choosing Store -> Authorize computer.

IDG UK Sites

Best Black Friday 2014 tech deals: Get bargains on smartphones, tablets, laptops and more

IDG UK Sites

What the Internet of Things will look like in 2015: homes will get smarter, people might get fitter

IDG UK Sites

See how Trunk's animated ad helped Ade Edmondson plug The Car Buying Service

IDG UK Sites

Yosemite tips: Complete Guide to OS X Yosemite