We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
 

More Digital Home Opinion

  • Opinion: Print to Dropbox, Evernote, or an actual printer from your iPhone or iPad

    As iPhones and iPads increasingly take the place of laptops, there's one area that continues to be a challenge for business users: how to turn digital documents into printed ones.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Irony deficiency

    Samsung's strategy revealed! Elsewhere, NORAD goes bing and Apple's happy to tell you all about things that aren't working. The remainders for Thursday, December 13, 2012 are here to help.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Measure once, cut and paste twice

    Microsoft and Apple are at each other's throats over money, so it must be a day that ends in 'y.' Elsewhere, Apple may be inching closer to a TV as one of its partners looks to lay down some acreage in the U.S. and Cupertino's latest product is at least a thirty footer. The remainders for Wednesday, December 12, 2012 are redundant and repetitive.

  • Opinion: Samsung gives Galaxy S III free 'Premium' update, adds advanced features

    Samsung Galaxy S III owners can expect a New Year's upgrade with enhancements to its camera and interface.

  • Opinion: Answer Line: Streaming video to DVD

    Paul Brandenburg asked how to save a streaming video and burn it onto a DVD.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: There are those who call him 'Tim'

    Tim Cook speaks out on, well, pretty much everything. Meanwhile, Samsung gets permission to peek at Apple and HTC's new BFF deal, and AT&T phones in Pennsylvania are going to the Dans. You'll find the remainders for Thursday, December 6, 2012 in the Castle of Aaargh.

  • Opinion: Snapseed brings advanced photo editing tools to Android

    Nik Software's robust photo editing app, Snapseed, has finally made its way to Android. The app, which is also available on iOS, lets you edit your photos using simple gesture controls, and allows you to share your newly-minted masterpieces via Facebook, Twitter, or Google+.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Rumor, rumor on the wall

    Begun, these iPhone rumors have. Elsewhere, Apple's radio service isn't getting play time from record labels, Eric Schmidt's got a head-scratcher, and Apple's getting greener (and not with envy). The remainders for Wednesday, December 5, 2012 are the fairest of them all.

  • Opinion: The Macalope Daily: Unrequited disdain

    Forbes is truly the gift that keeps on giving to the Macalope.

  • Opinion: 10 Must-Know Samsung Galaxy Note II Tips and Tricks

    Samsung this morning announced that it sold more than five million Galaxy Note II devices globally in the first two months since its launch. That's a whole bunch of smartphones...or mini tablets...nay, "phablets" - and a lot of new Samsung Galaxy Note 2 owners.

  • Opinion: The Macalope Daily: All kinds of winning

    It's traditional to use the appellation "number cruncher" for someone like Horace Dediu, but that seems inadequate. Dediu does not so much crunch numbers as he vaporizes them.

  • Opinion: What you need to know about accessing the Internet on a smartphone

    Robert Harris asked me to explain the technologies and concerns around smartphone Internet access.

  • Opinion: The Macalope Daily: Bereft of basic logic

    [Due to technical issues The Macalope is currently available to all Macworld readers, not just members of Macworld Insider.]

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Paydirt

    Apple’s paying a big chunk of change to Samsung and the Swiss railway, but maybe it’s all a distraction from the main event: the iPhone 5S. The remainders for Monday, November 12, 2012 aren’t made of money.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Three if by FedEx

    The LTE-enabled iPad minis are coming! The LTE-enabled iPad minis are coming! Elsewhere, Apple lays down the law for its accessory makers, and announces its workshop closure for the holidays. The remainders for Thursday, November 8, 2012 are today’s headlines ... today.

  • Opinion: Any phone in a storm

    I live in New Jersey, in an area hard-hit by Hurricane Sandy. Before the storm hit, my family took the traditional preparatory steps: We bought non-perishable foods, stocked up on water, took in our lawn furniture, and so on. But we also prepped our electronics for the coming storm—chiefly, by charging up our iPads, iPhones, and laptops.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Two hands and a map

    Google's working on an iOS Maps app that may never see the light of day, Apple may soon let Siri buy your movie tickets, and Steve Jobs gets fully posable. The remainders for Monday, November 5, 2012 are up a creek.

  • Opinion: Ask the iTunes Guy: The iTunes Store and Apple IDs

    In this week’s Ask the iTunes Guy column, we look at a number of questions related to the iTunes Store and Apple IDs, and one question about a problem with iTunes launching at startup.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: The world is flat

    Apple executive Eddy Cue gets a flattering write-up, Motorola gets a flat take-it-or-leave-it offer from Cupertino, and how to turn your older Mac's drives into a Fusion Drive in twenty-seven hours flat. The remainders for Wednesday, October 31, 2012 are flat broke.

  • Opinion: Review: Great Pumpkin delights but doesn't soar

    I’ve loved It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown—the 1966 TV special—since I was a kid, and I always look forward to my yearly viewing. But even as a child, I didn’t yearn for repeats: once a year was enough. The program, and its December counterpart, A Charlie Brown Christmas, are both warm and cozy.



IDG UK Sites

Samsung Galaxy Note 4 release date, price and specs 2014

IDG UK Sites

What's the best smartwatch? 11 iWatch rivals compared in our wearables round-up

IDG UK Sites

App cloning: the mobile software industry’s hidden shame

IDG UK Sites

Developers get access to more Sony camera features