We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

More Apple Opinion

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Purple reign

    Apple would really, really, really appreciate it if you'd give Final Cut Pro X just one more chance. Elsewhere, iPhone 5S rumors are running rampant on the streets, and photographic proof of Steve Jobs's most daring choice. This is the column formerly known as the remainders for Thursday, March 28, 2013.

  • Opinion: Automator workflow of the month: April Fools' Day pranks

    As I've outlined over the many years we've produced these Automator tips, this fine utility can be used in powerful ways to make your work easier. However, in the hands of the office prankster it can also be used as a useful tool on the first day of April.

  • Opinion: Key sounds: Get better sound for your home entertainment

    Whereas most consumer technology becomes impossibly slimmer and smaller with each new generation, the rules of physics demand decent-size speaker cones should you want to achieve the best sound. But rules were meant to be broken, and you can get 'good enough' sound from a smaller, more stylish solution.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Soul, man

    Samsung's trying to bring a little more life to its devices--arguably, too much. Elsewhere, a trusted source tells Apple just where it went wrong, and we have a new challenger in the Steve Jobs movie arena. The remainders for Monday, March 18, 2013 got what they got the hard way.

  • Opinion: Bugs & Fixes: Recover photos lost in an import

    The other day, someone I know very well (I shall not reveal his identity) called me for some emergency tech support. He had been importing photos from his iPhone to iPhoto on his Mac. A lot of photos. Just over a thousand photos, to be precise. After the import had apparently completed, a message popped up stating that the original photos were being deleted from the iPhone. During this process, iPhoto crashed.

  • Opinion: When Safe Boot won't boot

    Reader Simon Hansen finds his Mac slow to do his bidding. He writes:

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Plane and simple

    An iPad might join you on your next flight to Hawaii, iPhone users consume online video at a prodigious rate, and Steve Jobs is the illustrated man. The remainders for Tuesday, March 12, 2013 are free with every purchase.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Chips and dip

    A new species of malware wants you to “like” it, the earliest iPhone is positively prehistoric, and the latest Apple TV packs a tiny surprise. The remainders for Monday, March 11, 2013 are served.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Pulp fiction

    Is a subscription service music to Tim Cook's ears? Will Apple set back the clock on Swatch? Will a judge tell a case not to pass go and not to collect $200? All those questions and more on the remainders for Wednesday, March 6, 2013.

  • Opinion: Smart watches: coming soon to a wrist near you

    Smart watches could be a the thing to kick-start wearable computing, following the success of activity trackers such as the Fitbit and Nike Fuelband. Apple is rumoured to be working on an iWatch, while Sony has already launched its Smart Watch.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Believe it or not

    Would you believe me if I told you Apple was working on new iPhones and iPads? What if I told you it was in a lull of innovation? What if I said Ferrari and Apple were teaming up to fight crime? Then I saw the remainders for Tuesday, March 5, 2013--now I'm a believer.

  • Opinion: How to synchronize email signatures

    Reader Ned Chessman is curious about a Mail feature. He writes:

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Funny money

    Apple's taking stock of its stock situation, issuing updates for AirPort, and thinking about making it easier to exchange cash via your iPhone. The remainders for Thursday, February 7, 2013 are in the money.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Small change

    More "information"--if it can be called such--about the iPad mini's rumored Retina display, Mac OS X 10.9 may soon roar onto the scene, and Apple's shrinking yet another of its products (sort of). The remainders for Monday, February 4, 2013 are too small to be seen with the naked eye.

  • Opinion: App Spotlight: FineReader Touch brings multi-lingual OCR scanning to iOS

    There are plenty of apps that can turn your phone into the equivalent of a mobile scanner, using the camera to take snapshots of various documents, then letting you file and/or share those documents.

  • Opinion: The printing primer

    Last week I showed you how to configure your printer. This week, we'll explore the ins and outs of Mountain Lion's print sheet.

  • Opinion: Automator workflow of the month: Easy email replies

    Do you routinely receive correspondence that contains a load of email addresses within the body of the message? Say, you're in charge of pulling together a meeting for the company's worldwide accounting department or you receive behind-the-scenes "Get out now while the getting's good!" missives from recently laid off co-workers. You'd dearly love to compose a message to the people associated with these addresses but it's a bother to copy and paste them into a new message's To field. If only there was a way to automate the process.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Ever smaller

    The next iPhone may scan your fingerprints, and the future iPad will--almost shockingly--not be bigger and heavier. The remainders for Wednesday, January 16, 2013 are lighter than air.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: True or false?

    T-Mobile's still racking up the iPhone activations, despite not, you know, selling the iPhone. Elsewhere, a low-cost iPhone might be in the offing, and the patent suits just keep coming. There will be a quiz on the remainders for Tuesday, January 8, 2013.

  • Opinion: App Spotlight: Speek brings hassle-free conference calls to iOS

    The days of rushing back to your desk just so you can set up or join a conference call are over.



IDG UK Sites

iPhone 6 vs Samsung Galaxy S5 comparison review: Apple takes on Samsung once again in smartphone...

IDG UK Sites

Just another opinion about Apple's new iPhone

IDG UK Sites

Intel Xeon E5 v3 Haswell processors review: we check out the fastest chips on the planet

IDG UK Sites

Apple Watch hands-on review | Apple Watch design, spec, features & UK pricing