We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

More Apple Opinion

  • Opinion: How to fast-charge your iPhone or iPad using a standard USB port

    Back in January I wrote about the "inconvenient truth" of trying to charge your iPad from a USB port: there's not enough juice.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Risky business

    Are you sitting down? Because the Wall Street Journal says Apple's going to release a new iPhone this year. I know! Elsewhere, Alan Kay takes a potshot at the iPad, and the first Steve Jobs movie gets ready to hit many of your screens. The remainders for Tuesday, April 2, 2013 love that old time rock 'n roll.

  • Opinion: The Macalope: It's dumb work if you can get it

    All too often, delving into an egregious act of silly punditry is like peeling an onion of dumb. So many stupid, stinky layers.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Fool on the hill

    Yes, yes, it's April Fool's Day. But here at the Remains of the Day, it's business as usual. So you can read about non-resellable MP3s, rumors about the next two iPhones, and Tim Cook's handsome, handsome yearbook photos without any fear that we're out to fool you. That's because the remainders for Monday, April 1, 2013, respect everything about you.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Purple reign

    Apple would really, really, really appreciate it if you'd give Final Cut Pro X just one more chance. Elsewhere, iPhone 5S rumors are running rampant on the streets, and photographic proof of Steve Jobs's most daring choice. This is the column formerly known as the remainders for Thursday, March 28, 2013.

  • Opinion: Automator workflow of the month: April Fools' Day pranks

    As I've outlined over the many years we've produced these Automator tips, this fine utility can be used in powerful ways to make your work easier. However, in the hands of the office prankster it can also be used as a useful tool on the first day of April.

  • Opinion: Key sounds: Get better sound for your home entertainment

    Whereas most consumer technology becomes impossibly slimmer and smaller with each new generation, the rules of physics demand decent-size speaker cones should you want to achieve the best sound. But rules were meant to be broken, and you can get 'good enough' sound from a smaller, more stylish solution.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Soul, man

    Samsung's trying to bring a little more life to its devices--arguably, too much. Elsewhere, a trusted source tells Apple just where it went wrong, and we have a new challenger in the Steve Jobs movie arena. The remainders for Monday, March 18, 2013 got what they got the hard way.

  • Opinion: Bugs & Fixes: Recover photos lost in an import

    The other day, someone I know very well (I shall not reveal his identity) called me for some emergency tech support. He had been importing photos from his iPhone to iPhoto on his Mac. A lot of photos. Just over a thousand photos, to be precise. After the import had apparently completed, a message popped up stating that the original photos were being deleted from the iPhone. During this process, iPhoto crashed.

  • Opinion: When Safe Boot won't boot

    Reader Simon Hansen finds his Mac slow to do his bidding. He writes:

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Plane and simple

    An iPad might join you on your next flight to Hawaii, iPhone users consume online video at a prodigious rate, and Steve Jobs is the illustrated man. The remainders for Tuesday, March 12, 2013 are free with every purchase.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Chips and dip

    A new species of malware wants you to “like” it, the earliest iPhone is positively prehistoric, and the latest Apple TV packs a tiny surprise. The remainders for Monday, March 11, 2013 are served.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Pulp fiction

    Is a subscription service music to Tim Cook's ears? Will Apple set back the clock on Swatch? Will a judge tell a case not to pass go and not to collect $200? All those questions and more on the remainders for Wednesday, March 6, 2013.

  • Opinion: Smart watches: coming soon to a wrist near you

    Smart watches could be a the thing to kick-start wearable computing, following the success of activity trackers such as the Fitbit and Nike Fuelband. Apple is rumoured to be working on an iWatch, while Sony has already launched its Smart Watch.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Believe it or not

    Would you believe me if I told you Apple was working on new iPhones and iPads? What if I told you it was in a lull of innovation? What if I said Ferrari and Apple were teaming up to fight crime? Then I saw the remainders for Tuesday, March 5, 2013--now I'm a believer.

  • Opinion: How to synchronize email signatures

    Reader Ned Chessman is curious about a Mail feature. He writes:

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Funny money

    Apple's taking stock of its stock situation, issuing updates for AirPort, and thinking about making it easier to exchange cash via your iPhone. The remainders for Thursday, February 7, 2013 are in the money.

  • Opinion: Remains of the Day: Small change

    More "information"--if it can be called such--about the iPad mini's rumored Retina display, Mac OS X 10.9 may soon roar onto the scene, and Apple's shrinking yet another of its products (sort of). The remainders for Monday, February 4, 2013 are too small to be seen with the naked eye.

  • Opinion: App Spotlight: FineReader Touch brings multi-lingual OCR scanning to iOS

    There are plenty of apps that can turn your phone into the equivalent of a mobile scanner, using the camera to take snapshots of various documents, then letting you file and/or share those documents.

  • Opinion: The printing primer

    Last week I showed you how to configure your printer. This week, we'll explore the ins and outs of Mountain Lion's print sheet.



IDG UK Sites

Amazon's Fire Phone reduced to £99: The best smartphone deal you'll find all day

IDG UK Sites

8 reasons you should start a blog

IDG UK Sites

Floating hard drive offers safe storage for daredevil filmmakers

IDG UK Sites

Apple Q1 2015 financial results: $74.6 billion revenue, record iPhone sales of 74.5 million