Facebook has revealed it will protect social networkers from malicious links by checking URLs before a user clicks on them.
The social network has joined forces with security firm Websense and every time a member of social network clicks on a URL posted on the site, it will be checked against the database in Websense's ThreatSeeker Cloud malware identification platform.
If the link is deemed malicious, users will see presented with a warning screen that will allow them to continue navigating through to the web page aty their own risk. They also have the option to return to the previous page or get more information on why the link was marked as suspicious.
"Facebook cares deeply about protecting users from potentially malicious content on the internet," said Dan Rubinstein, Facebook product manager for Site Integrity.
Dan Hubbard, chief technology officer at Websense, added: "Every day, Websense Security Labs works to discover, investigate, and report on advanced internet threats that are designed to circumvent antivirus products. By providing real-time protection from malware, spyware, inappropriate content, data leaks, and spam, we make it safe for people and businesses to use the web."
For more information of the security feature visit Facebook's dedicated web page.