We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
80,259 News Articles

Hackers infect BitTorrent software with malware

Downloaders warned PCs may be infected with scareware

File-sharing site BitTorrent has warned users that any downloads taken from its site during a two-hour period overnight may contain malware.

The file-sharing site, which hosts both legal and illegal content, has warned users that have downloaded files from the site over in the past 48 hours they may see a pop-up on their PC, from a program called Security Shield, that claims they have been infected with malware.

The scareware, which is also known as Fake Antivirus, then attempts to obtain money from the PC user in payment for a hoax internet security programme it claims will remove the malicious software.

"This morning at approximately 4.20 am Pacific Time, the uTorrent.com and BitTorrent web services were compromised. Our standard software download was replaced with a type of fake anti-virus 'scareware' program," BitTorrent initially said in a blog.

It then updated the blog to reflect the fact it believes just uTorrent.com was affected.

"Just after 6am Pacific Time we took the affected servers offline to neutralise the threat. Our servers are now back online and functioning normally...We sincerely apologise to any users who were affected," the website added.

"We take the security of our systems and the safety of our users very seriously. We sincerely apologise to any users who were affected."


IDG UK Sites

iPad mini 3 vs iPad mini 2 comparison: New iPad mini 3 isn't worth £80 more

IDG UK Sites

Why you shouldn't buy the iPad mini 3: No wonder Apple gave it 10 seconds of stage time

IDG UK Sites

Halloween Photoshop tutorials: 13 masterclasses for horrifying art, designs and type

IDG UK Sites

Should I upgrade from Mavericks to OS X 10.10 Yosemite? What you need to know before updating to...