We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
79,720 News Articles

Deleted Facebook photos remain online

Social networks don't remove images completely

Photos posted on popular websites, including Facebook can still be viewed even after they have been deleted by the user, say Cambridge University researchers.

The researchers surveyed 16 websites including MySpace and Flickr. They posted photographs to the websites and noted their URLs before deleting them. However, when they checked back 30 days later, the links worked on seven of the sites.

"This demonstrates how social networking sites often take a lazy approach to user privacy, doing what's simpler rather than what is correct," one of the researchers, Joseph Bonneau.

"It's imperative to view privacy as a design constraint, not a legal add-on."

Facebook told the BBC: "When a user deletes a photograph from Facebook it is removed from our servers immediately. However, URLs to photographs may continue to exist on the Content Delivery Network (CDN) after users delete them from Facebook, until they are overwritten. This usually happens after a short period of time."

The research revealed that dedicated photo sharing sites such as Flickr and Google's Picasa removed the images immediately, unlike the social networks.


IDG UK Sites

iPhone 6 release date, price, specs and new features: Convincing leaked photos show iPhone 6

IDG UK Sites

Gateway to your kingdom: why everybody should check and update their broadband router

IDG UK Sites

Netflix whips up 3D VR viewing room for Oculus Rift during company hack day

IDG UK Sites

Best Mac? Complete Apple Mac buyers guide for 2014