We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
2,862 Tutorials

How to choose who sees your photos on Facebook

Handling Facebook fret

QUESTION I signed up for a Facebook account and uploaded some photos to my profile. I was soon contacted out of the blue by someone I didn't want to hear from and who I didn't know could see my photos and profile. I've been told that I should stop using Facebook, but will I still be able to see my photos if I cancel my account, and how can I make sure no one else can see them? S Jones

HELPROOM ANSWER Facebook is perfectly safe, provided that you make use of its privacy settings, so only the people you know can see your profile.

Log into your Facebook account and click Account in the top-right corner. Choose Privacy Settings from the drop-down menu, then click Custom, Customise settings.

The next page lists each section of your profile and lets you choose who is able to see it – everyone, friends of friends, friends only or a select group of people. We recommend choosing friends only for each option. This way, you can ignore requests from people you don't want to contact.

From now on, anyone who wants to see your photos or get in touch with you will need to request you as a friend.

Follow PC Advisor at Facebook.com/PCAdvisor.

See also: How to use Facebook safely

See also: How much is your Facebook profile worth?

See also: How to make your Facebook profile more professional

Free tech support in the Helproom Forum

IDG UK Sites

Sony Xperia Z3 Compact review: A better deal than the Z3 and most smartphones

IDG UK Sites

Why people aren't upgrading to iOS 8: new features are for power users, not the average Joe

IDG UK Sites

Framestore recreates ancient China for Mr Bean's martial arts misadventure

IDG UK Sites

iPad Air 2 review: Insanely fast and alarmingly thin. Speed tests, camera tests and more