iOS 7, the 2013 version of Apple's iPhone, iPad and iPod touch operating system, added (among many other new features) the ability to block phone numbers, a feature that has continued into the current version, iOS 8. It's as simple as you could ask for, and incredibly handy if you are frequently bothered by nuisance callers.
But what if someone blocks you? You're probably being paranoid, and shouldn't worry - but if the idea is really bothering you, there are a few giveaway signs. In this article we look at the clues you can use to find out if a contact has blocked your phone number on their iPhone.
First of all, however, we should come out and admit that there isn't a way (that we know of) to find out for sure if you've been blocked, beyond getting hold of your friend's iPhone and checking the blocked list. (If you discover a method, do let us know, but we can't see why Apple would make this information available to the blockee.) These are clues, not surefire evidence, and if you really want to know - well, maybe you should ask.
Have I been I been blocked by an iPhone: What happens to a blocked call?
To test what happens to a blocked call, we blocked ourselves and monitored the experience on both phones. First of all, the call does ring - but only once. We were then informed that the recipient wasn't available, and diverted to voicemail.
You can actually leave a message even if someone has blocked you. The blocker will never be notified of the message, but it does appear at the very bottom of their voicemail list in the Blocked Messenger section (if they're using a carrier that supports visual voicemail such as O2), but most people probably won't check there.
Have I been I been blocked by an iPhone: What happens to a blocked text message?
Texting someone who's blocked you seems completely normal. The message sends as normal, and you don't get an error message. This is no help at all for clues.
If you're using an iPhone yourself, you used to be able to get a clue as to whether someone has blocked you by sending an iMessage. The iMessage would attempt to send, but after a couple of minutes it would resend as a text message that would never be recieved by the person who blocked you.
Now, though, Apple has updated iOS 8 so that, if you try to send an iMessage to someone who blocked you, it'll immediately say 'Delivered' and remain blue (which means it's still an iMessage). However, the person you've been blocked by will never recieve that message.
Have I been I been blocked by in iOS 7 or iOS 8: Verdict
The call is the best source of evidence. The key here is that you will always be diverted to voicemail after exactly one ring - if they were declining your call the number of rings would vary each time, and if the phone was switched off, it wouldn't ring at all. (If they were using Do Not Disturb, it would ring as normal, only silently - and of course bear in mind that one Do Not Disturb setting allows the user to specify that repeated calls are allowed through - so you could always try again right away. Just make sure your call is urgent, or they may block you for real this time!)
Finally, though, we would like to repeat that this isn't an exact science, so don't make any angry scenes without knowing for sure. Also: chill out, relax, and try not to worry about it. If they've blocked your number, hey, who needs them?