Whatever your reasons for wanting to close your ebay account, here's how to do it. Before you start, remember that you can't reopen your account once it's closed. You can, however, create a new account, but you will start with a 'feedback' score of zero.

Also, if you're having a problem with your account, or an issue with paying fees, try talking to ebay's support team as they might be able to help. If the problem is unwanted email from ebay, you can change your 'communication preferences' in your account settings.

Bear in mind that your ebay and PayPal accounts are different and separate. Closing your ebay account won't close your PayPal account, so you can continue to use it to buy things as normal.

How to close your ebay account

First, sign into your ebay account with your usual username and password.

If you've bought or sold anything in the last 30 days, you won't be able to close your account. Instead, wait until 30 days has passed.

Assuming you haven't made any recent transactions, ensure any fees are paid and that your account balance is zero.

You can then submit a request to close your account. Alternatively, click Help & Contact in the menu at the top-right of the ebay home page and then type "close account" in the search box, and click Learn more about how to close your account.

Close ebay account

When you click the link to request to close your account, you'll be asked for a reason. Choose one from the drop-down list and click Continue.

Close ebay account 2

On the next screen you might see some information about how to solve the problem. If you still want to close the account, choose 'No. Please close my account' from the menu and click Continue.

Close ebay account 3

Your request will then be submitted and you will receive an email explaining that the closure progress has started.

Your ebay username will be labelled as "no longer registered", but you can still sign in to your account. You won't be able to bid on items, of course.

When you account is actually deleted (and your profile removed from the website) is dependent on how long ago you bought or sold anything, but it can take up to a maximum of 180 days.

Your contact and payment details will also be deleted, but your email address kept on record since you can't open a new ebay account with the same email.