Facebook is something of a phenomenon in our heavily online world but what do you do if you want to delete your account on the social network? It might be taking up too much of your time, the adverts might be getting to you or you don't like social networking after giving it a go.
Whatever your reasons are for leaving, you can delete your account in a few simple steps. Facebook gives you two options for deleting your account.
You can delete your account temporarily so you can re-join at a later date. In this instance you are not searchable but some data like messages you've sent may remain visible to others. Facebook retains all your information such as friends and photos so it's all there in case you decide to jump back on the wagon.
The second option is to permanently delete your account. This is more severe in that the account cannot be reactivated and no data is retrievable if you decide to come back to Facebook.
How to temporarily delete your Facebook account
Log in to your Facebook account as usual and navigate to the account settings via the drop down bar in the top right hand corner of the page.
Select 'Security' from the list of options on the left hand side. It's here that you will find the 'Deactivate your account' link.
You will be presented with a page which tells you a select bunch of your mates will miss you, which may or may not be true. You'll need to select a reason from a list of options to indicate why you're leaving. Furthermore, if you created any groups that you're the only administrator for, you can opt for them to other members can become an admin in your place. You can also opt out of receiving emails from Facebook in the future.
Press 'Confirm' and your Facebook account will be deactivated. As this option is temporary reactivation is applied by simply logging into Facebook just like you normally would.
How to permanently delete your Facebook account
If you want to permanently delete your Facebook account then you must visit the dedicated Facebook page via the link below.
Log in to your account (if you are not already logged in) and hit the 'Delete my account' button.
As we mentioned earlier, once you do this you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information.