We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
2,812 Tutorials

How to make a Mac visible on a Windows network

Make your Mac visible on a Windows network

If you can't see your Mac on your Windowsnetwork, don't worry, there's a very easy solution. Here's how to make an Apple Mac visible on a Windows network. See Apple MacBook Pro 13in with Retina display review.

Some Macs come with the share settings turned off for security reasons; the simple way to make your Mac visible on a Windows network is to manually turn these on. The good news is that it is remarkably easy to do. Take a look at Download YouTube videos to your iPad too.

Step one.

Click on the Apple icon in the top left of the screen and then open System Preferences.

How to make a Mac visible on a Windows network

Step two.

Next you need to open the Sharing folder. This can be found in under the Internet & Wireless heading.

Step three.

You now need to make sure your Mac has a name e.g. David Court's iMac.

Step four.

On the left hand side of the window you will see a list of features you can share. Click as appropriate.

To make your Mac visible on a Windows network you will need to have File Sharing ticked.

Step five.

This step is the only part that is remotely tricky. What you need to do is click on the service File Sharing; you then need to click on the Options button.

From here you need to tick the ‘Share files and folders using SMB (Windows)’ box. As you will be able to see from the window, you are then required to enter a password for sharing a user account. All you need to do here is select the user account you wish to share and create a new password for the account. You will have to enter this password on the Windows machine to enable sharing with the Mac.

Useful information from Apple: “Because passwords for some Windows users may be stored less securely, it’s a good idea to disable Windows users’ accounts when they’re not in use. Deselect the On checkbox next to an account to disable the account. Be sure to disable the account before you turn off file sharing on your computer. Otherwise the password is still active, and stored in a less secure manner.”

IDG UK Sites

Android One vs Android Silver vs Google Nexus: What is the difference?

IDG UK Sites

iOS 8 review: Hands on with the iOS 8 beta

IDG UK Sites

Thinking robots: The philosophy of artificial intelligence and evolving technology

IDG UK Sites

How to shoot a robot rom-com in three days