We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Windows 8 files installed in wrong locations

Ila3icbwa

Likes # 0

I am new to this. Upgraded to Windows 8 from Windows7. I also have Microsoft Office Home & Student installed. Problem is for some reason most of my Exel spreadsheets ended up in Microsoft Picture manager, or Wordpad. God only knows how this happened. Can anyone out there advise me how I can get my files into their correct locations? Not at all impressed with Windows 8 at the moment.

Thanks

Like this post
aquatarkus

Likes # 0

Hi Do you mean that your excel files have actually been moved to different locations or that they are opening with picture manager and WordPad.

I suspect that they are opening in these 2 programs and have not actually been moved.

If you right click the Excel file you want to open you will get a drop down menu, In that menu you should see an "Open With" option click that. You will then get a window that says "how do you want to open this file" there will be a couple of options, click the "more options" link and you will then see a list of programs installed on your PC. scroll down until you see Excel and select that by clicking it, follow the prompts and your excel files should all now open in excel.

Regards Aquatarkus

Like this post
Ila3icbwa

Likes # 0