We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Windows 7 not genuine?

rickf

Likes # 0

I have been using windows 7 ultimate for about 2 years. It validated Ok on installation then. Why am I suddenly getting the message " This copy Windows is not genuine" after installing updates yesterday on booting up?? Can anyone shed some light on this. I am loathed to have to install windows again. MS stinks. Any help appreciated

Like this post
KRONOS the First

Likes # 0

Unfortunately this is not an uncommon problem. Have a look here.

Like this post
ams4127

Likes # 0

Chronus

Just out of interest, I clicked on that link and Malwarebytes lit up with a warning.

Have you had the same?

Like this post
KRONOS the First

Likes # 0

Certainly did not and this is a site I use regularly. One should not expect security programs are infallible,they have yet to be invented, one should always use a little common sense in these cases.But of course you can just Google activation problems and choose another site. As I said it is a common problem and there is plenty of info out there.:-)

Like this post
rickf

Likes # 0

Hi Chronus, Thanks for your input. I tried what was suggested and it has not worked. Still saying that my copy is not genuine. I shall persist looking for a solution as I belive my copy is genuine even though not bought from MS direct!

Like this post
KRONOS the First

Likes # 0

rickf

Try this.

You can reactivate your Windows 7 installation by performing the following: