We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Paragon Backup & Recovery 2011

kwil2

Likes # 0

Hi... I've installed Paragon Backup/Recovery from my PCAdvisor DVD Issue 200 I'm running Win7 (64-bit) and set System Restore & System Image for Win7 on a daily basis.

I'd like to try Paragon and use it instead of Windows for backups.

First of all: is that to be recommended?

I've never used Paragon before and would appreciate some advice, perhaps from someone who's a regular user of Paragon.

My setup: I have two 500Gb disks (not allowing for space already taken up with files etc) My Disk Management setup as shown by 'Diskmgmt.msc' is:

Disk 1 C: = 500Gb

Disk 0 = 2nd Hard Drive = 500Gb At Disk 0 there is 'System Reserved' partition = 100Gb

My query:

Creating a Paragon backup by clicking on 'Disks/Partitions', brings up a window where you tick what disks/partitions you want to backup.

My second Hard Drive (Disk 0) I only use to keep duplicates of important files, so I don't need to back that up with any regularity.

That means my main backups will be for Hard Drive (Disk 1) C:

So, in the Paragon window (bottom section): I tick 'Basic MBR Hard Disk 1' This automatically also ticks below it: 1. First Hard Disc Track 2. Master Boot Record 3. Local Disk C:

Now, here's where I'm unsure: In the top section of the Paragon window (which relates to Hard Disk 0 - ie the drive I don't need to backup) is the 'System Reserved' box.