We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Windows Live Essentials - Movie Maker problem

kwil2

Likes # 0

Hi... I'm relatively new to Win 7 Home Premium (64-bit) and have just discovered it doesn't include Windows Movie Maker which was on XP. However, I noticed online Windows Movie Maker 2.6 is supposed to work with the above. It downloaded fine but when I went into 'All Programs' and clicked on Windows Movie Maker, nothing happened. I noticed also the icon next to it was a blank one and not a 'Windows' one. Checking Add/Remove (I actually use Revo) the program was definitely installed. Nevertheless, I uninstalled then reinstalled. No joy. I then uninstalled it completely. I then noticed Windows Live Essentials contains Movie Maker. I selected only the 'Photo Gallery & Movie Maker' from the list and downloaded. However, the same thing happened as with Windows Movie Maker 2.6. Also, same blank icon. I must be missing something simple here. Can anyone help? Many thanks

Like this post
difarn

Likes # 0

Could be a general problem with the icon cache database. Try this.....

Close all folder windows that are currently open.

Launch Task Manager using the CTRL+SHIFT+ESC key sequence, or by running taskmgr.exe.

In the Process tab, right-click on the Explorer.exe process and select End Process.

Click the End process button when asked for confirmation.

From the File menu of Task Manager, select New Task (Run…) Type CMD.EXE, and click OK