We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Windows 7 Security Settings

AustinCann

Likes # 0

I am new to computers. My colleague left a computer for me to work on. I am trying to save the file in c directory and windows return error that I dont have permission to do so. I changed the permission settings in security tab from properties window of c drive to full control. While windows was updating to new settings, it showed a popup window saying that I dont have permission to change settings for some dll. I cancelled it and now I dont know what to do, it still does not let me save the files. Anything I am missing here? Kind Regards Austin

Like this post
difarn

Likes # 0

Hello

Are you trying to save a word document? If so you simply have to save it to Wdocuments". If you have Microsoft Word then you click on "file" at the top and navigate down to "save as" - you will be given many options but choose "word document", then you will be given options where to save this to. Choose "documents".

Like this post
difarn

Likes # 0

Hi again,

This link may help to explain how to change permissions. Are you using the PC as a guest or just on your colleague's user account? Is this a temporary or permanent arrangement and do you need to change Administrator permissions? This can be done via the User Access Control in the Control Panel.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_vista-files/how-do-i-change-folder-and-file-permissions/465f2b42-63dd-4486-8dd1-c870290efeed

Like this post