We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Problem with Seagate Disc Wizard & Windows 7

kwil2

Likes # 0

Hi I’ve used Seagate Disc Wizard successfully for a long time with XP. I always created an image of my system before adding any new software so I could restore in case of conflicts or dislike of the new software.

I’ve just bought a new computer running Windows 7 64-bit with TWO 500Gb drives installed. I’m a complete newbie with Windows 7.

I understood the latest Disc Wizard was compatible with Win7 64-bit. At anyrate, it installed without any problem.

With the computer completely free any other software, I wanted to create an image that reflected the system ‘clean’ so that I could restore to original in case of problems. So, I created a backup and this too went fine. Just like in XP.

I then installed some software: Winrar - No problem.

Next I installed ‘Revo Uninstaller’. This seemed to install correctly but when I tried to access or even use its ‘uninstall’ button , window popped up saying the system ‘had encountered a problem’.

Since clearly I didn’t have an ‘uninstaller’ programme, I looked in Add/Remove Programs. There was no sign of Revo and none via ‘regedit’. So I’m guessing nothing was installed.