We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Second Hard Drive Not Being Recognised

kwil2

Likes # 0

Hi... I'm a complete newbie on Windows 7, having been a diehard XP user. I'm actually fielding this question from my XP computer. However, I now have a new computer running [b]Win7 Home Premium (64-bit)[/b]. Currently, it's completely 'clean', no other software installed bar Win7. I haven't even connected it to the web yet! Here's my query: There are two 500Gb hard drives installed. However, when I click on 'Computer', all I see is notification of ONE drive only: 'Hard Disk Drives (1) Local Disk C: 436Gb free of 465Gb When I go into Device Manager, both drives are there. I found my way into Disk Management: Start>Diskmgmnt.msc What I then see is: [b]Disk 0[/b]: Basic 465Gb Online (at left) [b]Disk 1[/b]: Basic 465Gb NTFS Online & to its right, 'C' 465 Gb NTFS - Healthy (Boot, Page Dump, Crash Dump, Primary Partition)

To the right of [b]'Disc 0'[/b] are what appear to be two partitions: 1. [b]System Reserved[/b]: 100MB NTFS Healthy (System,Active, Primary Partition) 2. 465 Gb Unallocated