We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Obtain activation key

rscott74

Likes # 0

I am not an IT expert. I recently had my motherboard replaced by a friend of a friend and the tower was returned with Windows 7 ultimate 32 bit installed. I previously used Vista. I don't have access to an activation key.

What is the best way to obtain a legitimate key? On amazon the price appears to be around £150 which seems hellishly expensive. Searching online there appears to be a UK supplier quoting £18.99.

Does anyone have any advice please?

Thanks

Like this post
Forum Editor

Likes # 0

If you can't obtain the activation key from the person who installed the software you'll need to buy a new licence from Microsoft.

Download and run the Windows 7 Upgrade adviser and take it from there. The adviser will offer you choices, and you can buy the upgrade online.

Like this post
a member

Likes # 0