We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Window 7 rearm

rscott74

Likes # 0

I'm not good with PCs. I'm trying to rearm Windows 7 activation. I'm using command prompt for the first time. When I enter "slgmr -rearm" I'm told "slmgr" is not a valid command. I'm running as administrator and closely following on-line guide. Can anyone offer an explanation/solution?

Thanks

Bob

Like this post
chub_tor

Likes # 0

"slgmr -rearm" is this a typo or did you actually enter "simgr"?

I looked at this site Click Here for advice.

Like this post
Thalmus

Likes # 0

No need for the command prompt. Right click computer and select properties. In the window that opens scroll to the bottom and click the link that says "change product key". Enter your product key and then it will activate

Like this post
rscott74

Likes # 0

Chub-tor - I'm typing it correctly, even using a copied screenshot to guide me. Thalmus - I don't have a product key.I have had my motherboard replaced by a friend of a friend and I was using Vista before. I didn't realise that there was a time limit (its now 36 days since I got the tower back). I would like a few more weeks to consider my options given the cost of Windows 7 activation.

Like this post
rscott74

Likes # 0

Chub-tor

I've looked at the link suggested and tried all 4 options, the 2 "slmgr"s" and "sysprep" were not valid and the "run....." didn't do anything

Like this post
Thalmus

Likes # 0