We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Windows 7 - 64bit stops downloading

cazez

Likes # 0

I am running Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit everything seems to be fine apart from when downloading it all of a sudden stops the downloads. I then can't resume the downloads until I reboot. I thought it might have been Internet Download Manager but I've tried a few others but get the same problem. I did a search on google about this and read that quite a few people are having the same problems. I am a bit of a novice so I don't fully understand how to correct this. I thought it might have been the sleep mode but turning it off doesnt fix the problem.
Anyone had the same problem and if so have you managed to fix it?

Thanks

Like this post
smackheadz

Likes # 0

have you paid for internet download manager?if not i would uninstall it.if you have paid for it i would still uninstall it but that is up to you.you could download update and run malwarebytes to see if you have a nastyclick here

Like this post
smackheadz

Likes # 0

when you say you have tried a few others what were these called?

Like this post
cazez

Likes # 0

Yes I have paid for IDM and had it for a while, had no problems with XP or Vista. I've tried jDownloader and rapidshare manager, but it sometimes stops even when I download 1 file using Windows 7. I read somewhere its a problem with the 64bit.
This is a solution I found but I don't understand it.
On the Windows 7 PC I set