We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Windows 7 Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

System Volume is corrupt, Black Screen of Death Win7

Jegster

Likes # 0

Hi all, please bear with me as I am a self taught amateur on a computer! I recently encountered the dreaded Windows 7 'Black screen of death' I noticed when my power had cut that when it was turned back on it did the disk check and started saying replacing invalid security id with default (or something along those lines) it took 40 minutes to complete and on restart it gave me only a black screen with a moving cursor. I left it for a few hours in the hope that it would be rectified but to no avail. Ctrl+alt+del doesn't work and there is zilch happening, it is just the same in safe mode too. I started to try to search for info on my mobile which was very limited. I have a Samsung laptop and I can access the built in samsung recovery solutions but I do not have the foggiest of what to do. I have read about it being malware, microsoft update issues and heard that it can be repaired easily whereas others are saying it needs to have its permissions altered etc...I saw a youtube vid saying that you can do the f8, start up repair...I tried this and it came back with: 'system volume on disk is corrupt' repair action: file system repair (chkdsk) result: completed successfully. Error code = 0x0