We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Games

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Suitable gaming PC for skyrim around £500?

Viridian112

Likes # 0

I'm in the market for a new gaming PC, somewhere around £500. I've seen several options, and can't decide if any of these would be good or not (I'm a complete newbie at PC equipment and specs). I play some light FPS games based on the Cube and Cube 2 game engines, and the only graphically intensive game I'll want to play is Skyrim, which I will be running on a 1920x1080 monitor.

I've heard that AMD drivers suck for Skyrim (although I'm not sure what this means, I'm assuming it means Nvidia cards are preferential). I've also heard Intel processors would be better for Skyrim, as the game is more reliant on CPU than GPU. Is any of this true, and if so could you recommend me anything good for around this price bracket?

I've already seen a PC with an Intel i5 3570k and a GTX550Ti within my budget, and another with the i5 3570k and an ATI 7770. Finally there was also one with an AMD FX4100 processor and an ATI 6870 (which is a superior graphics card, so I'm told). So I have no idea which of these would be best, or if any of them would even be able to run Skyrim.

Thanks.

-Viridan112

Like this post
KRONOS the First

Likes # 0

Useful if you could have posted links to the PC's you mentioned that allows us to look at the overall specs. Also you do not mention whether you will need an operating system or need peripherals, monitor,keyboard,mouse etc.

Like this post
Viridian112

Likes # 0

Alrighty.