We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Digital Home & Smartphones Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Blackberry's connection problems

beynac

Likes # 0

I am puzzled by the recent problems with Blackberry. Why should a server used by Blackberry cause all these problems? I am fairly new to smart phones and not sure of the way everything connects.

I have a PC (HP) which uses Microsoft Windows as its operating system and connects to the internet and email through my ISP (BT). If BT's server goes down, I realise that I will not be able to connect to the internet or get my emails. If HP (the PC manufacturer) or Microsoft (the OS supplier) has a problem, then I would not be affected.

I have a Samsung Galaxy Ace phone, which uses Google's Android as its OS, on a Vodafone contract. At home, I connect to the internet and my email servers using my BT wireless connection. If I am at home, I would expect to be able to connect using Vodafone if my BT WiFi went down. Elsewhere, I would expect to be unable to connect if Vodafone's system was down (or if I could not get a signal). I would not expect any problems if Samsung or Google had a problem (except, obviously for my Gmail account). Surely, I should still be able to connect using Vodafone's network.

All of the articles I have read seem to imply that, using a Blackberry, everything is routed via what is essentially Blackberry's server. This seems illogical to me, so I'm obviously missing something. Please could someone enlighten me and remove this gap in my knowledge.

Like this post