We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Digital Home & Smartphones Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Virgin media TV

the hick

Likes # 0

I am having to 'go digital' soon. I have a choice, of either a satellite dish and box set-up, or Virgin media, as their cables run past my house. I have no experience of either system, but I do realise the dish set-up would be my own, with no ongoing rental. I do not watch that much TV, so would not want movie and sport channels. As I do not know anyone with it, I am now trying to find out, whether there are any significant advantages and/or disadvantages to the Virgin system. Any advice would be much appreciated, based on others experience.

Like this post
BT

Likes # 0

Depends whether you want the Sky TV subscription or just the Freesat channels.

With Virgin you would of course have the option of the Virgin Phone and Broadband services as well. Equipment breakdowns are covered which is not the case with satellite boxes. Broadband speeds are as advertised and even with the minimum 10mb you will always get this speed or very close to it, with options of 20mb/30mb/50mb if you really want it.

Like this post
buteman

Likes # 0

If you have TV's that have Freeview installed in them and you have a half decent aerial at all you will pick up the channels with no problems. The better the aerial the more channels.

I am with Virginmedia at the moment and they have just put there prices up recently. Mine went up from £25 to £32 and I was not long telling them what to do with there service.