We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Digital Home & Smartphones Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Sat. Navs, TomTom and Garmin

the hick

Likes # 0

I have been thinking of buying a sat. nav., to include western Europe for holiday use. I have never used one before. Does anyone know of any major differences between these two major brands please? Any advice much appreciated.

Like this post
anniesboy

Likes # 0

I have a Garmin 255w which I used recently in France,it preformed very well.
As for differences between Tom Tom & Garmin Im not sure each have their devotees .
You could look at a review of sat navs in "Which" at your local library or on line if you subscribe.
Be aware that some sat navs are now available with lifetime map updates for an extra cost about £50.

Like this post
anchor

Likes # 0

I have a TomTom, and to be honest have never used a Garmin.

However, the general opinion is that TomTom is the Satnav of choice, and is certainly the brand leader.

Like this post
Zorst

Likes # 0

I have owned both and slightly prefer the Garmin. But both are easy to use and very good at what they do. The only real difference is that Garmin use NAVTEQ maps where as Tom Tom use TELEATLAS maps. From experience, NAVTEQ maps seem a bit more up to date. If you want TMC (traffic info), Tom Tom is better for this feature.

Like this post
Simsy

Likes # 0