We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Digital Home & Smartphones Help

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Inbuilt Freeview with a Freeview Recorder

jenny1471

Likes # 0

Hi,

I am not sure if this question has been asked before, but I have a TV with inbuilt Freeview.. however it does not record so I've been looking at getting a Freeview Recorder too..

But am wondering if it's possible to use the Freeview Recorder if Freeview is already inbuilt in to the television? I am not technically minded so am struggling to see if it would work although can't really see a reason why not.. i just don't want to waste money on something if it may not work.

Any advice much appreciated.
Thank you
Jenny

Like this post
jenny1471

Likes # 0

Thinking about it I'm not sure it's called a 'Freeview Recorder'. I mean a Hard Drive.. i think. Basically where you can record series of programmes etc on to the hard drive direct from the tv/freeview channels.. :)

Like this post
marvin42

Likes # 0

You could use a DVD recorder but I prefer a PVR. IMHO Humax are the best click here. This will record 2 programmes at the same time, you can watch something you recorded earlier whilst recording and you can timeslip - ie hold a live broadcast whilst you answer the phone, make a cup of tea etc.

Like this post
BT

Likes # 0

In reply to your basic question, there is absolutely no problem with this. I use a Sony PVR with Freeview and also have a TV with built in Freeview, and also a cable box.

Like this post
dms_05

Likes # 0