We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Consumer Advice

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

iPad or Android? What to choose

TonyLevy

Likes # 0

I know this has probably been asked loads of times but here goes. I am in the market for either a new iPad or the Android equivalent. I have never owned an apple product so I am completely new to ipad's but have an android smartphone. I want to get either tablet but not sure which will suit my purpose better.

I need the tablet mainly for checking e-mail and social network sites but also to keep in contact via video with my family who reside in another country and have both iphones and android phones and tablets. At the moment I use Skype for this contact but not sure if it is available with the ipad, my budget will stretch to around the £400 mark.

Any advice would be most welcome, thank you

Like this post
morddwyd

Likes # 0

Very much a personal choice.

There is no doubt the iPad is popular, and people swear by iy, but i's not for everyone.

I sent mine back after a week as in my view it simply did not live up to thhe hype.

No doubt others will have a different view.

Get as much hands on experience of both systems as you possibly can.

Then reflect for a week!

Like this post
nickf

Likes # 0

Both apple and premium android tablets are very similar in performance. What swings it for me is the malware issues with android.

Like this post
TonyLevy

Likes # 0