We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Consumer Advice

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Views on this monitor

Denzil056

Likes # 0

So looking to buy a monitor for my new setup, using an Nvidia GeForce GTX 680 gpu. this is the monitor:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/DGM-IPS-2701WPH-Widescreen-IPS-Monitor/dp/B008PD9BWM/ref=sr14?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1351165473&sr=1-4

Was also wondering why it doesn't say what refresh rate it has, i'm pretty new to buying monitors so that might be a stupid question.

Like this post
D@ve

Likes # 0

Here is a very in depth review of monitor if you have not already seen it.

The official website lists it refresh rate as 60-75Hz. I wouldn't worry too much about that though; Windows will automatically set the refresh rate (probably to 60Hz) which will be fine. LCDs do not suffer from flicker like the old CRTs did.

Like this post
D@ve

Likes # 0

It's also worth pointing out that choosing a monitor by comparing specs holds little value. The only important specs you can rely on are:

Size

Resolution

Panel Type (IPS is the generally the best, and that is what you have chosen).

All of the other specs are measured by such flawed methods that they are practically meaningless. The only way to judge one is to either read a proper review (one by someone with dedicated testing equipment), or to try them out yourself for real.