We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Consumer Advice

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

problems with a advent laptop brought from currys

nick2011

Likes # 0

Hello. I have come onto this site to gather some advise of people who may know a lot better than myself. It's my first time on this site, so bare with me.

Back in 2007, my partner's dad brought a Advent laptop from Curry’s for her. He brought it through higher purchase. He also opted to included the extended warranty on the laptop for peace of mind. Now, The laptop has had may repairs since purchase, more so in this year. More to the point, the laptop developed a issue with the screen flickering back in June of this year. I noticed that it would only do this when the screen was moved back and forth. But I had also noted that when the laptop was stabilised when the screen was being moved, that is when it was flickering. I had also noted that by stabilising the laptop and holding it in possition it would only happen when this was done. But only only the left hand side, by the touch pad.

When i phoned the call centre, a technician explained that it might be a screen fault or there might be a problem with the motherboard. After going through tests to indicate what kind of a problem it was, it was booked in for a repair by the technician.