We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Consumer Advice

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

New Custom PC - Should I go with Cougar-Extreme?

geocam

Likes # 0

Hi everyone,

Advice much appreciated as although I'm not new to computers, I am new to the pitfalls of ordering a custom pc online.

So: I need to get a new pc in the next month. After having a long look around, and deciding against many of the usual custom pc makers (eg. Mesh, Cyberpower, etc) on the basis of cost, flexibility, or bad reviews, I came across Cougar-Extreme, which seems to offer outstanding value. This is the rig I had in mind:

INTEL CORE I5 2500k; XIGMATEK SCORPION HDT-S1283 COOLER; 4GB Corsair Memory DDR3 1600 (2 x 2GB); 60Gb SSD sata 2.5; 1000GB SATA Hard Drive; ASUS P8P67 LE REV3, P67(B3) motherboard; ATI HD 6850 1024MB PCI Express graphics card; M59 Midi Tower Case; OCZ 600W PSU - STEALTH XTREAM 2 PSU; DVD+/- RW - 22X Samsung SATA; No Operating System.

This comes to about 740 quid, which is at the upper end of my budget (650-750), but which seems superb value for what I think is a really good system.

So I'd like to hear people's experiences of Cougar-Extreme. I've found a couple of really positive reviews, but would like to confirm these before I spend so much money. I emailed Cougar-Extreme yesterday to ask their advice about one or two aspects of the system, but they've yet to reply.

Any advice on the potential system would also be much appreciated (eg should I get a z68 motherboard?).

Thanks everyone.

Like this post
iscanut2

Likes # 0