We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Consumer Advice

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Need a AMD PC Supplier

c.burkill

Likes # 0

I'm in the market for a new PC. I'm a graphic designer, so need a fair bit of power and ram. Haven't got a huge budget (£500 to £1k, preferably closer to the £500). I'm only after a base unit, nothing else. My current PC is a custom built AMD unit (was top of the range four years ago!).

I haven't been happy with the custom build, the thing has never seemed happy in it's own skin and want to go down the big brand route this time (dell, HP).

I always try and buy AMD, but I can't seem to find a brand name supplying machines with fast AMD chips in. Can anyone point me in the direction of a good AMD PC?

First time here, great site! Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Chris

Like this post
spuds

Likes # 0

There are quite a number of manufacturers that use AMD, and retailers that stock both AMD and Intel. You could try http;//www.novatech.co.uk for a start.

Like this post
iscanut2

Likes # 0

Have a look at Cougar
http://www.cougar-extreme.co.uk/

Like this post
Covergirl

Likes # 0

Hmmm . . . quite right. Currys highest priced AMD is about £300 while Comets top offering comes in at £499 for a AMD x4.

I agree with you about the custom build route. I did the same in 2001 and followed that up with an Acer off-the-shelf box in 2008-ish. It does everything I want, without all the bells and whistles hyped onto us by (what I would call) the "PC Review Industry".