We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Speakers Corner

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Latin to English translation facilities

johndrew
Resolved

Likes # 0

I am researching my family history and have purchased a document from the National Archive in an attempt to unravel the circumstances surrounding a Will. The document which records the findings of a court case is dated 1721, is written in script and in Latin - a language I have no knowledge of - by (I think) an ecclesiastical court.

Attempts at trying to decipher the script and use on line translation has failed either as a result of me not recognising written letters, misspelling words or the service not recognising the words used - or more likely all the forgoing!

Searches of the internet have revealed a few commercial translation facilities most of whom are quite expensive. Is there anyone here who is able to suggest a service that would be reasonable for translation of a single A4 sheet of script or perhaps has the ability and is willing to look at the document for me.

With thanks in anticipation.

Like this post
wiz-king

Likes # 0

6th form at local grammar form?

Like this post
Woolwell

Likes # 0

Your local Church of England or Roman Catholic Diocese may be willing to help. You have nothing to lose by asking.

Like this post  
john bunyan

Likes # 0