We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Speakers Corner

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

How good is your maths

bumpkin
Resolved

Likes # 0

I was asked if I had a HDMI cable which I do but they are not all the same obviously. I use HMDI as an example,the same applies to any connector.Here comes the maths bit. If there are connectors, one big and one small, one male and one female how many cables would be needed to satisfy any situation without inter connection or adapters. Long time since I studied maths but I make it 27,how about you? Now introduce a medium size and then what is the answer. Just a fun question. There is no doubt a formula for this sort of thing if anyone can remind me.

Like this post
chub_tor

Likes # 0

OK I make it 16. If there are four variables ie Small Male (SM), Small Female (SF), Large Male (LM) and Large Female (LF) and the cable length is constant then the result is 2 to the power 4 or 16. I don't see how you can account for different lengths of cable though as you don't know how far apart the equipment is going to be so a cable that is 1 mile long could still join two pieces of equipment that are only a foot apart. Now tell me I am missing something..... Tomorrow, I am off to bed.

Like this post
bumpkin

Likes # 0

I knew this would cause confusion, the cable has nothing to do with it I just used that as an example. My point is how many ways are there for pairing 2 from 4 options.

Like this post
rdave13

Likes # 0

pairing 2 from 4 options, even Google gives up on this. :(

Like this post
Aitchbee