We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Speakers Corner

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

HMV Administration

Al94
Resolved

Likes # 0

Been predicted for a while but looks likely tomorrow http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/c4096aee-5e82-11e2-a771-00144feab49a.html#axzz2Hz53czjx More imminent store closures and job losses.

Like this post
nickf

Likes # 1

FE , well , as I am an engineer , the glass is twice the size it needs to be ! lol

Like this post
SillBill

Likes # 0

..nd anyway Wikipedia supports MY view!

Like this post
spuds

Likes # 0

I gave reference to David Adams in the Jessops post, that's being aired in Speakers Corner at present. He was the former executive chairman of Jessops who about six months ago made an offer to HSBC, because he wanted to take over Jessops again.

David Adams is a non-executive director of both Halfords and HMV.

Like this post
Forum Editor

Likes # 0

Being serious for a moment....

The HMV story is one that has become increasingly familiar of late. The company is wallowing in debt, and in December was unable to honour an agreement that it had made with its bankers.

Appeals to suppliers - notably music and film companies - refused to continue to support the business so it could continue to trade. There was no other option but to suspend share trading, and call in an administrator.

As a market analyst said "In the digital era, where 73.4% of music and film are downloaded, HMV's business model has simply become increasingly irrelevant and unsustainable."