We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Speakers Corner

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Sir Patrick Moore. R.I.P.

Likes # 0

news link

An inspiration to many, including me.

Quite a character.

Like this post

Likes # 0

I was sad to learn that, I always enjoyed watching prog 'The Sky At Night' and thought him a great personality.

Like this post

Likes # 0

Certainly a character and a self taught man will be missed by many

RIP.

Like this post

Likes # 0

He probably knew his stars and planets, and was well respected in his field, but he could be a little cantankerous in later life.

A long story :o(

Like this post

Likes # 0

Wasn't so well respected when he worked in the Armagh Planetarium and left the city in rather a hurry.

Like this post
Pine Man

Likes # 0

'but he could be a little cantankerous in later life.'

...and some!

In dealings I had with him I found him to be a particularly nasty and obnoxious man.

Like this post
Bing.alau

Likes # 0

I thought he was quite good on that instrument he played with the little hammers though.

Like this post
CurlyWhirly

Likes # 0

Very sad news.

Mind you I had noticed in the last few episodes of the 'Sky at night' that he had not been presenting as much as recent years and other presenters were doing much of the talking probably because of his failing health.

Still he was a legend in my eyes.

Like this post
Aitchbee

Likes # 0

Goodbye Patrick ... R.I.P. I'll miss you appearing on The Sky At Night. That's all Folks.

Like this post
Aitchbee

Likes # 0