We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Speakers Corner

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Modern Bread - 50th Anniversary

Quickbeam

Likes # 0

Are the forum breadmakers still active in producing their own bread?

As a baker by trade, it is better if you make your own, but it's a hell of a faff, a bit like home beer and wine making, you have to be very dedicated when it's so easy to just nip down to the local Co-op...

50 years of cotton wool bread

Like this post
Woolwell

Likes # 0

I use a breadmaker. No hassle and get much better bread than the supermarket variety.

Like this post
Covergirl

Likes # 0

I've given up with the bread making machine - despite measuring all ingredients with accuracy, I inevitably produce a brick - which although it tastes like bread, you can't get much filling in a 2" x 4" slice.

I'd love to DIY without the machine, but finding somewhere warm enough to prove is always a problem.

Like this post
Pine Man

Likes # 0

Covergirl

I make all my own bread four loaves at a time. Freeze three and keep one out for immediate use. Lasts about a week.

I use the airing cupboard for proving or the conservatory in the summer!

Like this post
johndrew

Likes # 0

I used to make it when we lived overseas (Six families 40 miles into the bush) and the 'local' baker wasn't!!