We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Unable to send emails

newilliamson

Likes # 0

Hello, I am unable to send emails(Receiving is okay)with my SMTP server SMPT tiscali.co.uk whom I have been using for many years without troubles. For info I use Mozilla Thunderbird. The problem I am now encountering is when I try to send an email it requests the SMPT server password. I enter correct password but it repeatedly states SMPT server password failed 'Retry'. To try to rectify the problem I have removed the password from my server settings but I am still requested the password. My operating system is the latest Windows 8.1 being used on a Chillblast desk top computer. I have been in contact with my Network Administrator 'TalkTalk' whom are unable to assist me! Your observations would be appreciated. Thank you.Regards, norker.

Like this post
alanrwood

Likes # 0

Can't you ask your ISP to change or delete your current password and then reset it.

Like this post
AroundAgain

Likes # 0

Hi If it's the issue I think it might be, (I can't remember the wording in the window that keeps popping up) then the solution, which usually works, is to delete your password(s) in Thunderbird, re-boot your pc is often helpful here, and then re-enter the password(s) when you attempt to send an email from each account

So, just to clarify, go to Tools, Options, Security, Saved Passwords, Show Passwords, Yes, Remove All, then come out of that series of windows.