We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Motherboard unresponsive, need advice on parts

TraineeAngel

Likes # 0

Hiya,

I was working on my pc this afternoon when it suddenly shut down. I was just browsing the web so not doing anything that could stress the CPU or PSU.

I opened it up and stripped it down. I cleared the CMOS but it still refuses to turn on. I am a former electronics engineer and want some guidance as to the offending component. Unfortunately I am short of cash so I cannot even get a second hand replacement. This is the second motherboard that seems to exhibit the same symptom.

There is an indicator light on the MB but it (mb) refuses to power up as normal. I have tested the PSU and other peripherals and they are fine. In short (and this is what is so frustrating) when I pull out the what I believe is the 12V (square connector) it will power up fine but of course will not do anything as the 12V connector is disconnected? Am I making sense?

It must be just one component that if I service can breath new life into the mb. It is 5 years old intel board that came in my Vostro 410. Any help will be appreciated as I need this pc up and running again. Like I said I have had the same thing happen to another mb recently in another machine.

Like this post
rdave13

Likes # 0

How have you checked the PSU? Under no load the 12v rail may read ok. Supplying the mobo will be a different matter. Hopefully it's the PSU dying and not the motherboard.

Like this post
onthelimit1

Likes # 0