We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

New graphics card, or new pc?

aj99
Resolved

Likes # 0

I'm not too tech savvy, so you'll have to bear with me. I've got an AMD Sempron 140, 2.7ghz with 2.75gb ram. It's fitted with an NVIDIA GeForce 6150 graphics card which I just don't think is up to the job anymore, I don't play any really high spec games, but even the ones that I am trying now the graphics are really slow and jumpy if they even work at all. But my question is, is it worthwhile updating the graphics card, if so to what? Or would it make more sense to just buy a whole new tower? I don't have endless funds, maybe around the £300 mark if I'm looking at a new system. Sorry if that's not enough info, like I said this is just what I could manage to find out.

Many thanks for any help.

Like this post
csqwared

Likes # 0

aj99

As I understand it the GeForce 6150 is not a graphics card but an integrated chip on your motherboard. I'ld make a physical check, take of the cover and see if the expansion slot is populated. If the slots are empty install a card that will meet your requirements.

Like this post
aj99

Likes # 0

Didn't know it was possible to have an integrated chip as oppose to an actual graphics card. Will try to check later re the expansion slot. So, you think I'd be ok just buying a good graphics card? There are so many out there how do I know what to go for?

Like this post
Chronos the 2nd

Likes # 0