We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

No Logon Server Available - Removing PC from Domain

sparrowhawk27

Likes # 0

I've recently relocated my office, downsizing and reducing the number of users. Previously we had a Server running Windows Server 2003. The first computer I've moved, I forgot/didn't consider (I'm an IT novice at best) that I would need to remove it from the domain before moving it.

The Server is no longer active or online and subsequently when I attempt to remove this computer, using the admin account, I just get an error that there are n Logon Servers available. Frustratingly, just about any chage requires User Account Control.

Any ideas? Or am I going to have to get the Server and connect it directly to this machine?

As I said, IT novice so appreciate any suggestions.

Like this post
recap

Likes # 0

I would suggest reconnecting it to the server as all your data should be stored on the server.

Like this post
jaywoo

Likes # 0