We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

How do I protect my computer?!

Escape86

Likes # 0

Hi, I'm new to this service and I have come here to find answers to the confusing issue that is computer security! I have a basic understanding of computers but answers in layman's terms would be appreciated.

I have a few questions, but the basic gist is this - What combination of (free) software do I need in order to keep my computer protected against everything bad (malware, viruses, annoying toolbars etc.), and also to keep it running at its best?

I have a Windows 7 laptop and currently use the following software: Windows Essentials Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Free Windows Registry Repair CCleaner (just downloaded) Revo Uninstaller

I recently encountered an annoying toolbar search thing called "claro search" or something and had great difficulty removing it from my computer. Is this classed as "malware"?

Do I need anti-malware AND anti-virus (WSE) software, in fact, what is the difference? My computer started to behave strangely and running slugishly after my encounter with this claro thing and I found that Malwarebytes seemed to do a better job of getting rid of it than WSE.

I also have this annoying thing called "EasyLife" which, for the most part, I seem to have removed it but on Firefox the little search bar in the top right corner still says EasyLife and I can't seem to get rid of it! I use Chrome so it doesn't bother me too much but I'm concerned that it is still on my computer somewhere.