Tech Helproom
It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion
Suspicious activity claiming to be AVG
Likes # 0
Posted January 23, 2013 at 10:33PM
I have seen two pcs exhibiting suspicious activity today. First I had a pop-up at bottom right of screen purporting to relate to AVG. I was about to shut down so I ignored it.
On another pc I then had ZoneAlarm asking for permission to run ROCJAN2013AV.exe which I denied. I have not found definitive evidence that this comes from AVG but one site suggests it relates to an AVG advertising campaign. Can anyone shed some light on this?
If it is from AVG I am seriously concerned about the direction they are taking. The actions of this program are the very type that I would expect from a rogue program. An anti-virus vendor should be more understanding of this fact.
If it is not AVG I am even more concerned.
- Tags:
- avg
Likes # 0
Posted January 23, 2013 at 11:08PM
Run the free versions of malwarebytes and superantispyware first. Just google for them. Update first then run full scans.
Likes # 0
Posted January 23, 2013 at 11:26PM
This is from AVG site: http://forums.avg.com/ww-en/avg-forums?sec=thread&act=show&id=188190 they suggest you check the signature
Likes # 0
Posted January 23, 2013 at 11:34PM
Some sort of avg advertising campaign, have a look and see if there is a file called "AVG January 2013 Campaign" Prob in in C:\ProgramData\AVG January 2013 Campaign
Further info on forums.avg.com and they're not happy with it either
Likes # 0
Posted January 23, 2013 at 11:52PM
denis, Thanks, I had found reference to your link from this thread: http://forums.avg.com/gb-en/avg-forums?sec=thread&act=show&id=223379 Wasn't totally convinced particularly as I could find so few references to ROCJAN2013AV.exe on google.
Searching for the file but nothing has shown up yet. Also read that there is a removal process which runs automatically.
Likes # 0
Posted January 24, 2013 at 9:55AM
"...." I had a pop-up at bottom right of screen purporting to relate to AVG...."
I've seen a couple of those too in the last week.
The message was an invitation to enhance security by enabling the AVG Security toolbar and to set AVG Safe Search as the homepage. The message also pointed out that this was all free. There was nothing sinister or suspicious about it at all.
If your pop-up returns, instead of dismissing it immediately, have a good read of it and tell us what it says.
Reply to this topic
This thread has been locked.
Check out PC Advisor's other tech forums
Top 5 Most Popular
-
Samsung Galaxy S4 vs Apple iPhone 5 comparison review
-
Best cases and covers for the new iPad: protect your tablet in style
-
What’s the best mobile OS: iOS, Android, Windows Phone 8 or BlackBerry 10?
-
How to set a song on your iPhone as a ringtone
-
Apple iWatch release date and specs: when will Apple's iWatch launch



