We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

HELP!! Sumvision 300Mbps Wireless N PCI Adapter SVW322P

whufc4ever76

Likes # 0

Hello Newbie here with a problem!

I have just installed a Sumvision Wireless N PCI card in my Desktop PC which is located upstairs in my home.

I want the PC to run wireless to my SKY Router which is located downstairs.

Everything installed ok (Drivers and Software interface), and along the top of the software, i have 2 mode options to use the wireless card: Station Mode or AP Mode

From reading the manual from the install disk, i see i am supposed to use Station Mode and it should search for WIFI signal, i choose this mode and it says the card is DISCONNECTED

Change to AP Mode, card says that connection status is GOOD, but i cannot see any way of searching for a WIFI signal via this Mode??

The PC was originally Hardwired via Ethernet cable to the Router when i used it downstairs, and i am using Windows Vista.

I am currently using a Laptop downstairs, which has no problem connecting over WIFI to internet.

Any help would be much appreciated as i am getting very frustrated with this!!

Like this post
mgmcc

Likes # 0

If Station Mode is the correct mode and the card is "Disconnected", this probably just means that you haven't gone through the procedure to "Connect" to your wireless network (Router). How you do this varies between different versions of Windows.