We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Building my first PC (Sort of)

JaaTurner

Likes # 0

Hey Guys,

I am new to building PC's, and know basically nothing - but I know enough not to buy something from PC world or wherever.

So I have decided on the following components...

(Motherboard) Asus P8Z77 V LX (CPU) i5 3570K (RAM) Patriot 8gb (2x4gb) 16000mhz (SSD) Samsung 120gb 840 Series SATA 6 gb/s (HDD) Seagate Barricuda 3TB (DVD) Samsung 24x SATA OEM half height (PSU) 550w 120mm SATA PFC (Case) Zalman Z11 plus

Primarily this PC will be for browsing online, and storage of Pictures. So graphics and soundcard will both be integrated.

I chose a solid state drive to install either windows 7 or 8, any advice regarding which I should use? will these parts all work in windows 8 for example?

Am I missing any components or vital cables? Will I need special connectors? Will the motherboard even fit in the case or support my chosen components?

As I am useless I will (hopefully)have my friend build it for me. But any advice/tips from you guys would be greatfully recieved.

Thank you

Like this post
mole1944

Likes # 0