We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

How do I install an SSD drive to desktop

Gilly1am

Likes # 0

Hi, I am new to messing about with a computer's innards and have decided to add an SSD drive to speed up boot & processes as plan to do alot of vdeo editing etc. Machine is 3y old & now running Win 7 Pro 64bit, processor i7 920, motherboard MSI x58 Pro 7522 which I understand has 3GB/sec SATA II, 6GGB DDR3 RAM, nvidea 260 graphics card. I have ordered a Crucial V4 (SATAII)256 GB SSD & intend to transfer my 100GB worth of C-drive OS & app's to the SSD whilst leaving all media files etc on separate HDD.

Crucial have tried to sell me a USB- SATA transfer kit which, given that it's USB, sounds very slow & havent ordered it as thought I could just plug the new SSD into a spare SATA in the desktop & use Acronis True image software to clone the C drive.... am I correct in thinking this is the best way to do the transfer, then go into BIOS & re-name the bootup drive? Also, I have read elsewhere that after transfering from HDD to SSD that the SSD files will need to be 're-aligned' -can anyone tell me what this is about & how to do it relatively painlessly!!

Thanks in anticipation of replies.

Like this post
woodchip

Likes # 0

if you have acronis that may be the way to go, but you will need to remove the os from other drive unless you dual boot it. this would allow a second security system just in case so to speak. but you to do it the right steps

Like this post
Gilly1am

Likes # 0