We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

How to drag and drop

ponytail

Likes # 0

I have never used this facility before so can anyone advise.How do I drag and drop a file from one folder to another when only one folder is open

Like this post
ponytail

Likes # 0

Forgot to mention I am using windows 7

Like this post
Nontek

Likes # 0

Open the second folder as well - you may need to reduce size of folders to fit alongside each other. Then left-click and hold mousse button on item to be moved and drag it across to the receiving folder. Simples!

Like this post
Forum Editor

Likes # 0

You don't need to open the destination folder at all. As long as it is visible you can simply drop the file on the folder icon and it will be inserted. Of course, if you want to insert the file into a sub-folder within the destination folder you must open it first - then drop the file on the sub-folder's icon.

Like this post
ponytail

Likes # 0

Thanks for the advice what I am trying to do is download a few music tracks for my wife.They are located in a folder within documents.I went into media player and it says drag and drop on the R/H side but how do I get the folder within documents open whilst media player is still open.On my last PC I used XP and it was so simple I would just click on move folder select where to move it to and click move is there nothing like this on Windows 7

Like this post
Nontek

Likes # 0