We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

How to print photos

ponytail

Likes # 0

My wife would like me to print some photos of her late sister and some of her family.They come in different sizes.How do I do it what paper do I need.My printer is a Brother DCP-J315W.I have never done this before so all new to me.When you use the paper is it shiny side up or down.If I get A4 size paper it will need to be trimmed/cut how do I do that.Any help appreciated.

Like this post
mooly

Likes # 0

You might be better just putting the photos onto a USB stick, an SD card or CDR and taking them to any well known "high street" printer. Staff are usually helpful and knowledgeable and it probably works out a lot cheaper too.

If you want to do it yourself you can from within Windows (assuming that's what you use). Windows photo gallery has an option to crop pictures etc and size them to common paper sizes.

And yes glossy side up :)

Like this post
wiz-king

Likes # 0

You will need inkjet photo paper and I thik it goes glossy side down - I suggest you start with ordinary plain paper to see how it goes the go onto postcard size photo paper. Brother used to give a few sheets away with each printer (if you didnt throw it away with the packaging!)

Like this post
ponytail

Likes # 0

Hi mooly I have windows 7 so what is the procedure for printing photos.Do not forget that this is all very new to me.Do I need to get A4 size paper

Like this post
Fruit Bat /\0/\

Likes # 0

Video of how to print pictures