We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message
Contact Forum Editor

Send an email to our Forum Editor:

PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the Forum Editor know who sent the message. Both your name and email address will not be used for any other purpose.

Tech Helproom

It's free to register, to post a question or to start / join a discussion

Query On Portable Hard Drive (software)

Noisy_Boy

Likes # 0

Hi,

Firstly forgive me but I'm not very technical minded and wasn't entirely sure which section to put this in. I recently bought a Samsung M3 1T Portable hard drive and have an enquiry I'm hoping someone here might be able to help me with.

When I plug in and install the Samsung portable hard drive manager software, it seems a quick launch icon is automatically installed which appears in the bottom right hand corner of my desktop a short while after start up.

The first issue is that a box appears every time I start up saying 'Samsung hard drive manager' which fades when I move my cursor but really is unwanted. But more importantly, when I shut down without exiting the programme I get an error message come up saying the software is still running in the background. This happens regardless to whether the hard drive is plugged in, so the software appears to run permanently in the background once installed.